Omega Seamaster GMT reviewed by CPM.


After beeing patient for about two years, the virus caught me again. It all started when my evil friend (the long haired lazy head hippie) decided to buy a new watch [4] and we gathered more often to view watch catalogues, watch websites and watch magazines. And then the sleeping watch desire, hidden inside me for a long time now, has awakened.

I've wanted a watch with a second timezone all my WIS-life, but none of them seemed to fit my imaginations of the right GMT watch. While systematically checking for all available GMTs I, all of a sudden, stumbled over the OMEGA Seamaster GMT and was immediatelly hypnotized by its very beauty. A Seamonster, not like the everybodys Bond stuff, istead with a black dial, rubber strap, non skeletized hands and a new style of hands and markers. This was the one for me.

I tried to prepare very well for my new purchase by pinning my 'object of lust' onto the front of my refridgerator.

Strap

The strap is made of rubber sometimes also called rubber. On the inside one can find the same waves as they are on the dial and the same, but smaller seamonster as it is engraved on the back of the watch.

Clasp


The strap is closed by a double folding deployant clasp. It can be opened very easy by two push pins. The strap length can also be adjusted in seven steps. Unfortunately the big brushed stainless steel clasp is very scratch prone (it says scratch me to every potential scratcher in its environment).

Crystal and Dial

The Omega has a domed saphire crtystal with anti glare finish (not very effective though).

The dial is the highlight of the Seamaster GMT. Since Basel 2000 we now know that the GMT is the first of a new Seamaster look.

This is the first Seamaster with a black dial (as opposed to the blue standard), the triangle shaped markers at 12, 3, 6 and 9 o'clock and without the skeletized hands. Additionally there's a red hand to tell the time of a second independent timezone. The bidirectional rotating ratcheting bezel (120 steps BTW) is two colored to indicate day and night.

Case and Crown

The stainless steel case measures 41.5 mm in diameter (without crown). I had been very surprised by that because OMEGA claims the watch to be 39.5 mm only. On the other hand the watch looked perfect for my wrist which is usually only the case with big watches. The height of the watch is 13.3 mm and it carries the engraved seamonster and the text '50 Years' surrounded by the traditional waves on its back. The crown is screwed down and protected.


Movement

I cannot say much about the movement therefore I'll tell only the bare facts. More information is available at OMEGA [1] or at the zOwie-Website [2].

Accuracy

The accuracy of the watch is now, after four weeks, between +2 and +6 seconds per day. Thats OK for a COSC certified watch. The watch was regulated for 360 hours in five positions and different temperatures.

Automatic movement: Omega 1128 (based on ETA 2892A2) with second timezone (center mounted).
23 Jewels
Sweep second with 1/8 s steps
42 Power reserve
Waterproof up to 300 m

Apearance and Comfort

Wearing the watch is comfortable after a short time necessary to get used to. The clasp is that big, that the ratio between rubber and steel you have on your arm may be 50/50. With the new design the Seamaster is very readable and because of the very effective 'Superlite' a pleasure to look at during darkness.

Conclusions - Value

The watch retails at 2,950 german bucks. Althoug there are other GMT watches with the same base movement at a lower price, I think that the OMEGA isn't too expensive because comparing watches only by their movement isn't appropriate. The look, the quality of its finish and its reputation make it well worth the price.

Links

  1. Omega -  Seamaster GMT
  2. zOwie - Omega Watch Information Exchange
  3. Timezone Omega Forum
  4. Sinn 103 TiAr reviewed by CPM
  5. Sinn 6000 reviewed by Hippie

Remarks

Thanks for reading that far and I hope you like my review.

Everything written in this review is influenced by my personal oppinions and my general view of our world as it is. Additionally I ask every reader to miss all the contained errors and typos and I would like to mention that I am not related to OMEGA and that I also have not much hope to gain some advantage by doing this review.

All the photos on this page show my own watch and have been shot with a Nikon Coolpix 950. This page was originally written in german language - english lyrics by Hippie.

Comments, suggestions or improvements are welcome. Please eMail me!

Back to the CPM-Reviewpage

Omega Seamaster GMT reviewed by CPM.


So, zwei Jahre war ruhe. Aber einen WIS erwischtes immer irgendwann. Es begann damit, dass mein Freund sich eine neue Uhr [5] aussuchte und wir immer öffter gemeinsam über Uhrenwebseiten, Uhrenzeitschriften oder Prospekten diskutierten. So erwachte auch in mir das verlangen nach einer neuen Uhr.

Eigendlich wolle ich schon immer eine Uhr mit zweiter Zeitzone. Aber keine wollte mir recht gefallen. Beim systematischen überprüfen aller GMTs entdeckte ich die OMEGA Semaster GMT und war sofort in Ihren Bann gezogen. Eine Seamaster die nicht aussah wie die typischen Bond-Seamasters. Das schwarze Ziffernblatt, dazu das Kautschuckband, die nicht skelektierten, neu designten Zeiger, die neuen Indexe, die musste es sein.

Also bereitete ich mich auf einen neuen Kauf langsam vor, indem ich meine Wahl groß an meinen Kühlschrank klebte.

Band

Das Band ist ein Kautschuck- oder abfällig Gummiband. Es ist mit zwei starken Erhebungen sehr stark strukturiert. Auf der Innenseite sind die gleichen Wellen des Ziffenblattes und das Seamonster der Gehäuserückseite eingeprägt

Schließe


Die Schließe ist eine Doppelfaltschliesse sie ist 5 cm lang und verbirgt noch eine Längenverstellung des Bandes um sieben Stufen. Geöffnet wird sie durch zwei Taster an der Seite. Leider ist die matt, gebürstete Stahlschliesse sehr kratzanfällig.

Glas und Zifferblatt

Die Omega besitzt ein gewölbtes Sphirglas, welches zusätzlich enspiegelt ist.

Das Ziffernblatt ist das Highlights der Seamaster GMT. Wie man nach der Basel 2000 weiss, ist die GMT die erste Uhr des neuen Seamasterslooks.

Erstmalig eine Seamaster mit schwarzen Wellenhintergrund, dreieckigen Indexen bei 12, 3, 6 und 9 Uhr und nicht skelettierte Lanzenzeiger. Zusätzlich der rote Zeiger für die zweite 24-Stundenzeitzone. Die beidseitig drehbare Lünette ist in 120 Rasterschritte unterteilt. Sie ist zweifarbig um Tag und Nacht anzudeuten.

Gehäuse, Krone

Das Stahlgehäuse hat einen Durchmesser von 41,5 mm, ohne die verschraubte Krone gemessen. Ein Wert der mich verwundert, da man allerortens 39,5 mm liest, anderseits aber erklärt, warum mir die Uhr am Arm sofort gefiel. Die Höhe der Uhr beträgt 13,3 mm. Auf der Gehäuserückseite ist das berühmte Seamonster und der Text "50 Years" umgeben von einem Ring Wellen zu sehen. Die Krone hat einen Flankenschutz und ist verschraubt.


Werk

Zum Werk kann ich leider nichts sagen, deshalb hier nur die nakten Fakten. Weitere Infomationen finden sich entweder direkt bei Omega [1] oder auf der sehr guten zOwie-Website[2].

Gang

Die Genauigkeit liegt bei mir, nach vier Wochen, bei +2 bis +6 Sekunden am Tag. Damit liegt die Uhr voll im Bereich der beigelegten, pauschalen Chronometer-Bescheinigung (COSC). Die Uhr wurde demnach 360 Stunden in fünf Lagen bei verschiedenen Temperaturen geprüft.

Automatikwerk: Omega 1128 (Basis ETA 2892A2) mit zweiter Zeitzone aus der Mitte.
23 Lagersteine
Sekunde sprigt 1/8 s
Datumsschnellverstellung: keine; 24 vordrehen
42 Gangreserve
Wasserdicht bis 300 m

Tragekomfort und Übersichtlichkeit

Der Tragekomfort ist nach eine kurzen Gewöhnung sehr gut. Allerdings ist die Schließe so groß, so das das Verhältnis von Stahl zu Gummi am Arm wohl 50 zu 50 ist .-).Die Seamaster ist mit Ihrem neuen Aussehen hervorragend abzulesen. Die mit "Superlite"-Leuchtmasse ausgelegten Zeiger sind im Dunklen eine wahre Freude.

Gesamtbewertung - Wert

Die Uhr hat in meiner Ausführung, einen Listenpreis von 2950 DM. Ich konnte einen Rabatt von 20% bekommen. Viele andere GMT Uhren mit dem gleichen Basiswerk sind viel günstiger zu haben. Trozdem glaube ich das die Omega nicht zu teuer ist. Uhren nur anhand Ihrer Basiswerke zu vergleichen ist auch ein etwas zu grober Maßstab. Die Optik der GMT, ihre Verarbeitungsqualität und nicht zuletzt ihr Flair, lassen mir den Preis gerechtfertigt zu sein.

Links

  1. Omega -  Seamaster GMT
  2. zOwie - Omega Watch Information Exchange
  3. Timezone Omega Forum
  4. Sinn 103 TiAr reviewed by CPM
  5. Sinn 6000 reviewed by Hippie

Anmerkungen

Ich hoffe Ihnen hat diese Review gefallen.

Alle Darstellungen spiegeln meine eigene persöhnliche Meinung wieder, ich bitte alle enthaltenen Fehler nachzusehen. Alle hier genannten Warenzeichen werden selbstverständlich von mir anerkannt. Ich stehe in keinerlei Verbindungen zur Firma Omega noch habe oder erhoffe ich mir Vorteile durch dieses Review.

Sämtliche Fotos dieser Seite zeigen meine eigene Uhr und wurden mit einer Nikon Coolpix 950 erstellt.

Kommentare, Anregungen oder Verbesserungen sind gerne willkommen: Bitte hier eintragen.

Zurück zur CPM-Reviewpage